Watching the examples of Long Portraits given to us in the brief, I decided to take a humorous approach and attempt a Spicy Ramen Noodle Challenge. From watching previous videos or peoples reaction to spice, I knew that the face would give a strong visual reaction. In doing this, I felt that I would be able to catch dramatic and exaggerated facial expressions, thus making it interesting to watch.

I selected the first minute of the challenge as I felt the initial shock of the heat created the most dramatic expressions. I also chose to shoot two subjects as I felt that this would create a contrast in expressions, thus creating  a funnier visual.

If I were to shoot this again, I would perhaps focus on one person and zoom in to their face, in order to capture the intense expressions. I feel that I am showing a bit too much of the frame and in doing so have created chances for the viewer to be distracted from the facial features.

https://vimeo.com/189773464

 

Feedback:

“I like the fact the it was different from the rest of the pieces I saw, original take.”

 

Leave a Reply

